Is Proton still cheating you?

If you felt cheated on the price and quality of Proton cars, I don’t blame you. It is a fact that Proton sells cars at an exorbitant price in a government protected sector. It is a fact that you can buy better (and cheaper) cars if Proton was not protected.It is a sad fact that most of us have no choice but to buy Proton

The question is do you still feel cheated on the after-sales services? My Proton’s 60,000 km warranty expired recently and I was able to take my car to the car service workshop near my house.

A quick comparison of similar items between private workshop (CKW) in Puchong and Proton Edar Service Centre Puchong (PES) is as follows:-

Labor Charge
RM20.00 (CKW) [2 full time mechanics]
RM100.00 (PES) [includes PES mechanic going for his teh tarik 2 times in the mid of servicing my car]

Oil Filter
RM9.00 (CKW) [Original Proton Parts]
RM11.85 (PES)

Brake Fluid
RM25.00 (CKW) [Change of entire brake fluid]
RM24.00 (PES) [Just top up]

Note the differences now? If I convert the time spent at the service centre at RM1.00 per minute, the differences is going to be like this:-

CKW – parked my car at 10.00 am (on Sunday) and service all done by 11.30 am. Total minutes spent: 90 minutes = RM90.00

PES– parked my car at 6.30 am (must be working day! PES do not do any services on Sat or Sun) and service all done at 2.00 pm. Total minutes spent: 450 minutes = RM450.00

Extra minutes wasted in PES are 360 minutes = 6 hours! (not including the cost of 3 teh tariks and 2 nasi lemaks during my waiting time at PES)

Do I feel cheated on the after-sales service? Look at the above differences and tell me…sigh

Image hosted by Photobucket.com
Too many Protons owners in the house. There is another Proton car key lying on the table. Too much for comfort (damn need to change car already!)

2 thoughts on “Is Proton still cheating you?

Please let us have your reply...

