Kisah Benar – Racism in Malaysia

(Updated with some minor editing and thoughts – gosh, I did not realise 3 years have passed so swiftly until Noktah Hitam pointed out in his comments)

“Racist!”…the remarks made by one of the Minister made me think of an incident I encountered long time ago when I was in Form 4.

I was coming back from my tuition classes in KL and had to take the bus from Puduraya to go back home. Right at the back of the bus (my favourite spot) was 2 Malay guys. From their looks (or rather books), I gather they are UPM students (UPM = Universiti Pertanian Malaysia as it was known back then).

They were just coming back from their kampung as I overhead them talking about the life in their kampung whilst eating buah duku (must be from their kampung). One of them suddenly turned to me and asked “Adik, nak buah?” I smiled and politely said no. He asked me “Adik, tak makan buah ke?”. I said “Makan tapi dah kenyang”. I just wanted to avoid taking food from strangers but nonetheless, I ended eating some of the buah duku (which was delicious anyway).

Whilst travelling, they asked about my education, my favorite subject, sports, etc. One of them put his hand on my shoulder and said (I still remember it very clearly till this very day)

“Adik, kena belajar bersungguh-sungguh dan mesti buat ibubapa adik bangga dengan adik. Mungkin kalau adik gagal dalam peperiksaan, ibubapa adik mungkin berkata “tak apalah, cuba lagi” tapi selepas adik dah tidur, ibubapa akan menangis kerana kecewa dengan adik. Adiklah harapan ibubapa adik”

I must admit that I was a bit suspicious of the guys at first because I did not expect that these Malay guys to be talking some sense into this Indian student (who was at that time was a bit lazy and did not really paid attention on his studies). However, I saw in his eyes that he was very sincere.

It was almost a brotherly advice and I thought back of my dad who was a lorry driver and how hard he worked for me and my siblings to have a good education. It was there and then, it knocked me hard. I realised that I had a chance to make my parents proud of me and that their sacrifies was worth it.

Before I can say thanks, the 2 UPM student got off from the bus. Little they know how drastic they have changed my life from then onwards. I started to pick up on my studies until the day I got my Bachelor In Law. I have told the story to my siblings and inspired them to do the same

So, if anyone tells me that racism is high in Malaysia and that there is a silent friction between the many races in Malaysia, I would probably say “maybe” (so what some politicians wants us to believe anyway) but whenever I think of the 2 Malay UPM students with their buah duku, I realised that at least for me, they were my turning point (for better) – for they have shown that color of the skin had nothing to do with doing what’s right and ideal. At that time, they were not Malays and I was not an Indian but rather they were my big brothers who knocked good sense into this younger brother.

18 thoughts on “Kisah Benar – Racism in Malaysia

  1. i’m a malay in an ipts and my friends and me live in harmony with each other including chinese and indians,events such as opn hse and big dnner which involve helping each others is truly memorable n d feeling of grateful is always thr.n here i want to tell d whole world i am really proud to b a msian,and live like a true msian.lastly,i hope govt’ll open ipta’s to non bumis,or at liz sum of d ipta’s.it’ll bring harmony and good relationship as well as creating gud study environment to all.

    Like

  2. I came from a link in Noktah Hitam’s. Thank you for sharing such a wonderful story. I am glad that there are actually Malaysian who care about the our well being without feeling the differential in races. Happy Deepavali to you 🙂

    Like

  3. P4L – If we Malaysians are segregated in many aspects of life, it is going to be harder for us to compete globally.

    Bluecrystaldud – thanks for dropping by, when I was posted for overseas projects, we had no one but fellow Malaysians to keep me going. Only in Malaysia, we are seeing the differential in races – ironic!

    Like

  4. Hey Bro …
    Thats is a nice story to share with …
    I am a scrptwriter n indee film maker , can i use your story to write n visualize it in motion medium ?

    Regards,

    Najib.

    Like

  5. Nice story. They turned your life around but it still doesn’t change the fact that they could get a house cheaper than you. Work less than you and enjoy their benefit.

    So they are bumiputra huh? So much so that they can live off others’ hardwork. sounds like indirect slavery.

    Like

  6. I have screenshots of massive racist conversation over fb wall posting in my neighbourhood community fb site. If you can help me make it go viral as an effort to combat racism, I will pass you the screenshots. With due I respect I have censored their pictures because I’m not here to expose any individual but I want to expose many of our people’s mentality that is definately not doing any good for this country. Let me know..

    Like

Please let us have your reply...

