Childhood Memories Part 8

Please read the rest of the series here

It must have been in the early 80’s when this happened.

I was back from school early and after finishing off my homework, I went for my usual evening naps, waiting for my dad to come back home. When I woke up, I noticed my younger brother was not in the house. I asked my mom and she told me that both my dad and my brother had left to somewhere in the car.

I regretted sleeping – if I had stayed awake, I would have joined them. She was under the impression that they have gone to the shop for shopping but after 9 pm, even she started to get worried.

Where these 2 guys went? Back then, we did not have mobile phones so it was not easy to call and ask “Where are you?” All we could do is to wait and see. Just after 10 pm, we saw the Austin Minor strolling in front of the house. My mom was the first to start “shooting” at my dad – where you all went?

My dad smiling sheepishly said that they had gone to see the movie “Raiders of the Lost Ark”. The original plan was to do some shopping but when he heard about the movie, he decided to make a small detour.

(Poster source: http://www.moviecitygeek.com)

I know I have been to the cinemas when I was still young (too young to remember the details) but at the time, it has been sometime since my parents took us for movies. The Raider of the Lost Ark was to be the starting point for us – we will be going for more movies now onwards.

Not happy with my dad, my mom insisted that he take the entire family to see the movie again. I guess my father’s bragging about the movie was the main cause of her insistence. So, we did go to see the movie the very next day. When we are at the cinemas back then, we did not have a luxury of having popcorns and soft drinks for each of us.

All we had was a “box” of Tic-Tac and 1 can of Coke to be shared between me and my siblings (we did take care and made sure we took our Tic Tacs slowly). On “good days”, we might have an apple or a small packet of nuts for each of us.

The next movie to follow suite was ET…

Please let us have your reply...

