Thai Ponggal

(Boiled sweet milk. Image source: http://www.my-island-penang.com)

Today we celebrate Thai Ponggal – a “thanks giving” festive day in the Hindu calendar.

My wife woke up much earlier than me, first time in many months to prepare the pot of milk to be boiled in the true Ponggal tradition.

Frankly speaking, when I was small, I used to question my mom on the reason for celebrating Ponggal for I always thought that the event is for farmers, celebrating good harverst. So I dreaded the morning wake for the celebration and prayers.

But over the years, I realised that celebrating Ponggal can also means something else – that is to thank the good things that we have gotten for the last year and the good things that will be coming this year.

Happy Ponggal!

One thought on “Thai Ponggal

Please let us have your reply...

