Perfect Home

(My idea of a cosy interior. Image source: http://www.interior-design-it-yourself.com)

Picture this:-

You had a bad day at the office and just ended a long argument with one of the clients. There is tons of paperwork still on the desk. You slog back home through heavy traffic jam. Selfish road users who jump queue and road hog did not help much to reduce the stress. You reach home, hoping to finally take a break in a more pristine environment. But when you open the front door, the house is in a mess. It looks like your bad day is not over yet.

Maybe I am exaggerating things a bit.

Well, it has been almost 2 years since we shifted to our own house and the truth is, in my mind, we have not really settled down yet. Of course, over the last 2 years, we have “stocked” up the house with furniture and other interior decoration but we have not reached the “point of perfection” just yet.

Have you been to some of the houses where it has been well built and well decorated and sit in the living room. How do you feel? It is the same feeling I want when I head back home after a hard day at work.

One thing I hate to see when I go back home is a messy home – the sofa is out of place, dining table dirty with scraps and unused books and newspapers, the floor is dirty and dusty, the kitchen table top wet and messy, my son’s artwork on the wall and sometimes even the table top photo portraits are not arranged properly. I get more stressed and when that happens, it really shows – I will start to make unpleasant comments and this continues until things are put back in the right for the day.

I must admit that it is not easy to keep the house clean especially one does not have a maid and there are many working people in the house (all with different characters and preferences). Further with me and my wife working 9 to 5 – 5 days a week, getting the time to do a proper house cleaning itself is tough. There is barely time to cook, take care of our son and take a break ourself. The last thing we want to do on a tired weekdays is to have major cleaning in the evenings.

So, what we usually do is to do “minor” cleaning before we go to sleep on working days and then pick one area of the house to do “major” cleaning on the weekends. Educating family members to keep the house clean and pristine has been one tough job but constant “nagging” have been fruitful to some extent.

The question that we often use to remind everyone to do their part is “What if someone drops by the house and what they will think of the house?” The last thing we want is to have a guest dropping by unannounced and see the house looking like a dump. That seems to be a high standard to achieve, I know.

Having a cosy home to go to is a target everyone needs to achieve.

2 thoughts on “Perfect Home

  1. Man, I fully agree with you. I think I am going through tougher times at home.

    Totally, fully agree:
    “One thing I hate to see when I go back home is a messy home – the sofa is out of place, dining table dirty with scraps and unused books and newspapers, the floor is dirty and dusty, the kitchen table top wet and messy, my son’s artwork on the wall and sometimes even the table top photo portraits are not arranged properly.”

    Totally, fully agree but thing doesn’t seem to work:
    “I get more stressed and when that happens, it really shows – I will start to make unpleasant comments and this continues until things are put back in the right for the day.”

    Damn bloody tough thing to even imagine:
    “Educating family members to keep the house clean and pristine has been one tough job but onstant “nagging” have been fruitful to some extent.”

    Totally and fully agree and I wonder why do people don’t feel anything:
    “The question that we often use to remind everyone to do their part is “What if someone drops by the house and what they will think of the house?” The last thing we want is to have a guest dropping by unannounced and see the house looking like a dump. That seems to be a high standard to achieve, I know.”

    I was actually laughing all the way reading your article . . .

    All my best.

    Like

Please let us have your reply...

