African Menace in Puchong

(I spent more than 5 months in Africa – culturally it is very challenging but Africans in Malaysia need to adapt to the local culture and law too. When that does not happen, we have a problem. Image source: TheStar)

I don’t support racial profiling and negative profiling on any race is even worse but after recent “close” encounters with some of the Africans in Puchong over the weekend, I think it is high time that the growing number of Africans “students” need to be closely monitored. Are they really students or they are public menace (or criminals like here and here) in disguise?

This is what Malay Mail reported last year:-

The Cabinet has set up a task force to deal with the large number of Africans coming into the country and this has resulted in an increase in crime and social ills. According to the source, the task force was a result of complaints from many quarters over rising crime that included black money and drugs. Immigration figures made available to The Malay Mail show a rising trend in arrivals from the African continent.

From 51,383 arrivals in 2001, the figures jumped to 111,805 in 2008 and, as at Oct 31 this year, 99,769 arrivals from Africa were recorded. The figure includes both tourists and students. Africans found to be involved in criminal activities were mainly Nigerians, the source said. They are known throughout the world for dabbling in black money and using foreign women as mules to carry drugs in false baggage compartments.

Among the 153 Africans arrested for various crimes this year, 69 were Nigerians, while 25 were from Sudan, 16 from Botswana, 14 from Algeria and 10 from Zimbabwe. Seventy-five per cent of the offences were for overstaying, and, up to Oct 31, 38 Africans were prosecuted and 124 were deported. The source said because of lax monitoring, many African students used this privilege to stay in the country and carry out illegal activities.

Over the years, the growing presence of Africans in many urban areas has created panic and uneasiness among residents. The locals complain of fights, drunkenness and rowdiness among the Africans.

African communities have sprouted in apartments and condominiums in several areas, including Damansara Damai, Kota Damansara, Puchong, Cheras and Balakong. It is believed that the next target would be Indonesians, who form some 65 per cent of the 1.2 million foreign workforce and are largely blamed for house break-ins.

Not only are Africans a problem in neighbourhoods but local higher institutions also face problems with Africans but many choose to keep mum.

Let me tell upfront – not all Africans in the country are public menace – there are good ones like one in my cousin’s place (they are friendly, helpful and keep very profile) but there are ones who still think that they are in Africa and law & public order means nothing to them.

Last weekend I went over to pick up my aunty near Pusat Bandar Puchong and drove past Jalan Wawasan when I saw about 10 Africans gathered in front of the shops (those staying at this area would know this place – the Africans often regroup at the same place on daily basis). Seeing a large group of foreigners in front of the shops is nothing new – I have seen Indonesians and Bangladeshis doing the same on the weekends but my aunty who stayed nearby suddenly remarked that the group often drinks and then fight – this happened on a daily basis until to a point the neighbours could not take it and decided to call the police. The police came in one day and rounded the men up and for almost 2 weeks, there was peace. Now the group is back making the place dirty and rather dangerous with occasional fights and reckless throwing of empty beer bottles onto the road. She wished for regular police patrol to keep this group of men away.

After I picked her up, I decided to return home to get some items for the function. On the fast lane, there was this white Myvi driven rather slowly. Couple of cars high beamed them but nothing moved them. The white Myvi stuck on the fast lane and forced other faster cars to overtake them from the left. When I overtook the Myvi, I saw the problem – 2 Africans driving as if they own the road. I say “problem” is because this is not the first time I have seen Africans hogging the fast lane – every time I see an African on the highway, he is hogging on the fast lane or moving into the fast lane creating a crawl on the fast lane (seen different times and on different cars). Perhaps this is why we get accidents like this:-

The four students killed in the traffic accident on the Damansara-Puchong Highway (LDP) just after midnight yesterday have been identified as Africans. The fifth student injured in the rented Toyota Vios was in stable condition at Universiti Malaya Medical Centre. According to police, the students were travelling from Kota Damansara to Bandar Sunway in the middle lane of the LDP.

At Km11.3, near the Kelana Jaya LRT station, they tried to move into the fast lane but knocked into the rear of a Proton Iswara already in the lane.

(Source: here)

What it is with the Africans and the fast lane?

Things then got really nasty. It was late at night when I was driving back from a wedding dinner function in Klang. There was less cars on LDP when reached Puchong. I reached an overhead bridge when I noticed the car next to me was the same white Myvi with an African driver. Not knowing what this idiot would do, I decided to slow down. At the corner of the overhead bridge, I counted my luck when I noticed this idiot cuts from his lane into mine and then back to his lane without any signal or indications. If I had kept my speed, the idiot would have bumped into me. I was angry but from what I heard on how Africans react to accidents caused by them, it was not worth chasing the idiot. I just drove away from this idiot.

I also noticed a growing number of Africans near my housing area but unlike the group at Jalan Wawasan, this group has been rather tame and so far kept to themselves. That was when they started to move in. But now they have started their ruckus but it is still at a manageable level. But one thing that we are getting rather annoyed these days is the way they cross the road. Despite seeing an approaching car, they would walk as if they are the kings of the road – often we have to slow down and wait for them to finish crossing. My wife had a shock of her life last week when an African man suddenly walked in front of her car, causing her to slam on the brake hard.

Last night, I was driving on the lane when I saw 2 Africans crossing the road. I did not slow down as I gather they would have crossed the road by the time I pass them. But it was not. The idiots walked very slowly even though I know they have seen my car. One guy managed to cross in time but unfortunately not the 2nd guy. I stopped my car just in time in front of him. He looked surprised and then started to shouting something at me. My wife was inside the car and she too was angry on how these idiots take their own sweet time to cross the road and in the process almost get themselves knocked down by on-going traffic. I decided not to confront the idiots since I have my wife in the car otherwise they would have learned a lesson that they will never forget.

I drove off feeling very angry. I know that it is not going to be the last time I confront these Africans.

There are some foreigners who have forgotten that they are in another country and do not act accordingly. They end up becoming public menace or danger to other road users. We don’t mind having foreigners as our neighbours but once they become a public menace (regardless they are foreigners or locals), we need the swift hand of the law to deal with them.

49 thoughts on “African Menace in Puchong

  1. As I was taking few pictures of Puchong market shops, a raged African approached me and told me to delete the pictures i took. It was a very scary experience as i had my family with me. He was so rude and almost wanted to start a fight with me . This was my 3rd visit to Malaysia and I have never experienced such a thing. What is happening to this country?

    Like

Please let us have your reply...

